Diana Aguiar de Sousa

  • Lecturer
  • Invited Assistant Professor
Biographical note

Diana Aguiar de Sousa is a Neurologist at the Cerebrovascular Diseases Unit of the Centro Hospitalar Universitário Lisboa Central, Assistant Professor at Lisbon School of Medicine and researcher at the Institute of Molecular Medicine, in Lisbon.  
She completed her Masters in Medicine at Lisbon School of Medicine in 2010, with a grade of 18. In 2020 she completed her PhD in Neurology at the Lisbon School of Medicine, dedicated to Cerebral Venous Thrombosis, for which she received the João Lobo Antunes Thesis Award (unanimously approved with distinction and commendation). She was awarded a grant from the European Academy of Neurology to carry out an internship in stroke treatment at Inselspital Bern, Switzerland, under the guidance of Professor Marcel Arnold, in 2016.
Supervisor of master's and doctoral theses. Professor in the Masters and PhD in Neurosciences at Lisbon School of Medicine. Coordinator of the module on causality studies in the postgraduate course on Introduction to Clinical Research of the Academic Medical Center of Lisbon.  Member of the teaching staff of the Master in Stroke of the University of Bern, the course "EXMINT" of the European Society for Minimally Invasive Intervention, the ESO Stroke Summer school and the ESO Winter Stroke School.
Diana Aguiar de Sousa is a member of the Steering Committee for the implementation of the European Action Plan for Stroke and is a member of the Clinical Research Subcommittee of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN). She is also a member of the executive committee of the European Stroke Organization (ESO) and coordinator of the young physicians group of the same society. She is part of the "Guideline Board" of the ESO, and of the board of the Portuguese Stroke Society.
"Co-Chair of the conference "Garmisch Stroke Science Workshop" in 2021 in 2023. Member of the organizing committee of the ESO-GAINS-WSO Early Career Investigators Trials and Cohorts Workshop in 2020 and 2021. She is also a member of the Health Technology Assessment Committee and the Medicines Evaluation Committee of INFARMED.
Participation in multiple international clinical trials since 2012, including as member of event committees and safety monitoring committees and as national coordinator. 
Awards and grants:
- Young Investigator Award of the European Stroke Organization in 2016 and the "outstanding reviewer" award of the journal "Stroke" in 2019. 
- "Paul Dudley White International Scholar Award" at the "International Stroke Conference" in 2022.
- Dom Manuel de Mello" scholarship from the Amélia de Mello Foundation in 2015.
- FCT doctoral scholarship for internal medicine doctoral students in 2014
- 11th AstraZeneca-FMUL grant in 2015
Editorial work:
- Assistant editor of "Stroke" (AHA/ASA), member of the "editorial board" of the European Stroke Journal and the International Journal of Stroke and editor of the ESO blog. Guest editor of the cerebrovascular diseases section in the journal "Current Opinion in Neurology" in 2022. Reviewer of over 200 manuscripts and grant applications.
She has authored or co-authored over 80 articles and book chapters, her main interests being Cerebral venous thrombosis, implementation of stroke care, stroke in the young and pregnant woman.